Uganda Hippos receive heroes’ welcome in Gulu ahead of CECAFA U-20 tournament - Daily Post Uganda

Uganda Hippos receive heroes’ welcome in Gulu ahead of CECAFA U-20 tournament


GULU: The Uganda National U-20 National Football Team (Hippos) arrived in Gulu town on Thursday afternoon in Gulu, one of the two host towns for the CECAFA U-20 Challenge Cup 2019.

While arriving in Gulu town, the lad received a red-carpet treatment from the residents of the time who had long awaited for them who danced, sang and cheered loudly as they saw the new Uganda Cranes bus carrying the lads entered Gulu town.

The team is booked at Global Friendship Hotel, a walk-able distance from Gulu town.

In the evening at 4 PM, the team conducted a serious training session at the Daniel Comboni Vocational Institute in Gulu where the emphasis was on ball passing, transition and movement.

After the training team coach, Morley Byekwaso said that all his boys are in the best of the condition physically, mentally psychologically giving them an edge to compete favorably.

‘My players are in the best of condition which will help them compete favorably. We had a good team starting from the provisional squad to the current final team we traveled with here. Our are focusing to only winning and it is the mentality I am trying to inculcate into the boys’ noted Byekwaso.

The team will have a last training session on Friday evening at Pece War Memorial Stadium in preparation for the first group game on Saturday.

Uganda U20 Hippos Squad:

Goal Keepers: Jack Komakech (Football for Good), Dennis Otim (Mbarara FC) & Patrick Mubiru (Bright stars)

Defenders: Kevin Ssekimbegga (Express FC), Justine Opiro(KCCA JT), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers SC), Robert Kitabalwa (St Mary’s Kitende), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), Kenneth Semakula (Busoga United), Derrick Kigundu (Buddo SS),

Midfielders: Joseph Kafumbe (KCCA FC), Davis Ssekajja (B Stars), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC)

Forwards: Sadat Anaku (KCCA FC), Isma Mugulusi (Busoga United), Ivan Bogere (Proline FC), Ivan Asaba (St Mary’s Kitende), Sadam Maseruka (Bul FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers Junior Team)



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top