Tororo residents petition Kadaga over new constituency - Daily Post Uganda

Tororo residents petition Kadaga over new constituency

A cross section of residents of Tororo district have petitioned the Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga, seeking her intervention in regard to the proposed demarcation of West Budama County North-East out of West Budama County North.

In their petition to the Speaker presented on Thursday, 30 July 2020, the Padhola Elders’ Forum, the Chairperson NRM Electoral Commission, Tanga Odoi and the Tororo District Local Government Speaker said that what was approved by Cabinet is contrary to what was agreed by the Tororo District Council.

According to the lead petitioner, Richard Machika,  the district council created West Budama County North-East comprising of six sub counties including; Kisoko, Petta, Nagongera Town Council, Nagongera Sub County and Katajula while the existing West Budama County North comprises six sub counties including; Sopsop, Paya, Nawire, Sere, Kirewa and Soni.

He said that what was approved by Cabinet gives West Budama County North-East only five sub counties; Nagongera Sub County, Nogengera Town Council, Katagula and Soni Sub County.

“The district agreed to divide the sub counties among the two Counties equally and this is what we need clearly demarcated,” he said.

Kadaga pledged to address the issue with the Minister of Local Government.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top