BREAKING: Four IEBC Commissioners Disown 2022 Presidential Election Results - Daily Post Uganda

BREAKING: Four IEBC Commissioners Disown 2022 Presidential Election Results

The Star Stand-off as IEBC commissioners divided over presidential results

KENYA: Four out of the seven commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have disowned the results of the August 9th presidential election.

Addressing the media ahead of the announcement of the results, the four commissioners led by IEBC Vice Chair Juliana Cherera said the last phase of the electoral process which is verification of results was not transparent.

“We have conducted the 2022 General Election in the most effective and efficient manner. We have ensured that we have improved the standards and consistently communicated what is happening. We have partnered with all stakeholders and we say it for a fact that as a commission we have done a good job but some things need to be put out there,” said Cherera.

She added: “As you can see, the four of us we are here and not at Bomas where the result is going to be announced because of the opaque nature of how this phase has been handled. We therefore cannot take ownership on the result that is going to be announced.”

The commissioners urged Kenyans to remain peaceful and allow the rule of law to prevail.

“…we have an open door that people can go to court and because of the same we urge Kenyans to be peaceful because the rule of the law is going to prevail,” she said.

The four commissioners include Cherera, Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’anya, Francis Wanderi.

Meanwhile, IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati has since declared William Ruto as the winner of the presidential election after garnering 7,176,141 votes, representing 50.49 per cent of the total votes cast.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top