Elections of Municipality and City Division Chairpersons, Councillors - Daily Post Uganda

Elections of Municipality and City Division Chairpersons, Councillors

The Electoral Commission reminds political parties, candidates, voters and the general public that Monday 25th January 2021, was appointed the polling day for elections of Chairpersons, Directly Elected Councillors and Women Councilors for Municipality and City Division.

Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage, and shall take place at all polling stations in the respective Municipalities and City Divisions across the country, beginning at 7:00am till 4:00pm.

Thereafter, counting of votes and declaration of results shall take place.

Political parties and independent candidates are encouraged to officially appoint and station their agents at polling stations in the above electoral areas where the elections will be conducted.

Other than observing the exercise, candidates’ agents shall not be expected to interfere with the polling process.

All persons participating in the elections shall be required to comply with guidelines issued by the Electoral Commission in accordance with the Government of Uganda and Ministry of Health measures against the spread of COVID-19.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top